Overstreet Named To Haskins Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas men’s golf sophomore Mason Overstreet is in consideration for another national honor when he appeared on the watch list Thursday morning for the Fred Haskins Award.

Created by the Haskins Commission, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is presented to the “Most Outstanding Collegiate Golfer of the Year.” Known as the “Heisman of Golf”, the Haskins Award has been named in honor of Fred Haskins, who dedicated his career as Head Professional at the Country Club of Columbus in teaching junior golfers the art of competitive golf.

The Haskins Award winner is annually voted on by Division 1 players, coaches, and select golf media, thus truly making it the players award. Past winners include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Justin Thomas and Ben Crenshaw.

The watch list will be updated weekly, rating the individual play of the nation’s top performers as potential candidates for the Haskins Award.

Coming off a runner-up finish at the NCAA National Championship a season ago, Overstreet has the No. 13 stroke average in the country as a sophomore at 69.48, including five top 20 finishes in seven starts.

He has 12 rounds under par this season and captured his first collegiate victory at the Jerry Pate Invitational, finishing 10-under par, including back-to-back 5-under 65’s. Overstreet also added an amateur title to his name in December, winning the Patriot All-America Invitational, one of the most prestigious amateur events in the country.

To go along with watch list honors for the Haskins Award, Overstreet was also included on the initial spring watch list for the Ben Hogan Trophy.

Overstreet and the Razorbacks return to the course March 4-6, traveling to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, to compete in one of the toughest fields in college golf at the Querencia Cabo Collegiate.

For more information on Arkansas Men’s Golf, follow @RazorbackMGolf on Twitter.