Richardson named UA's BAS honorary alumnus

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former Arkansas men’s basketball head coach Nolan Richardson is the featured guest as he receives the Honorary Alumni Award during the 9th Black Alumni Society Reunion April 16-19.

The 1994 national championship team, featuring Corliss Williamson, Scotty Thurman and Corey Beck among others, is receiving special recognition during the weekend.

Cedric Williams, 2009 reunion chairman, invites alumni and friends to attend the Black Alumni Society Awards Banquet. The theme “Celebrating the Past to Build the Future” truly exemplifies what this reunion represents. You are cordially invited to be a part of this historic event and participate with the awards banquet and golf tournament.

Alumni who have made a tremendous contribution to BAS scholarship endeavors, community service, academics and philanthropy are being recognized. Those alumni are Kimbra Bell, Alumni Service Award; Ebony Oliver, Young Alumni Award; Ronnie Brewer, Community Service Award; Dr. Fred Bonner, Reggie and Willie Mae Murdock, and Dr. Rufus Thrower, Citation of Distinguished Alumni.

Tickets for the awards banquet are $35 for members and $45 for non-members. Seating is limited. Please get your tickets early.

Other reunion activities include a career fair, a step show, pre-game rally party before the Red-White Spring Football Game, the gospel festival and the BAS Endowed Scholarship Golf Tournament, featuring Richardson as the celebrity player. Golf team sponsorship is $500 per foursome, $125 per individual and includes cart, lunch and prizes.

The Holiday Inn Northwest Arkansas in Springdale is the headquarters hotel. The group booking code for the special room rate is BAS. Call 479-872-5998 or make reservations online at

Old School step show tickets will be sold from noon-2 p.m. April 16-17 in the Arkansas Union.

Sponsorship opportunities are available. Please contact Angela Mosley Monts for additional information at 888-275-2586. More information about the reunion and registration are available at To avoid the late fee, please register by March 13.