Seven Razorbacks Receive AP All-SEC Team Nods

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas football had seven Razorbacks named to the Associated Press’ All-SEC team, led by a first team selection of senior linebacker Martrell Spaight, as announced by the AP Monday.

Junior running back Jonathan Williams and sophomore defensive tackle Darius Philon were named to the second team while four Razorbacks were named honorable mention. The trio join 60 student-athletes in program history to receive All-SEC selections.

Spaight joins just 26 previous AP All-SEC First-Team honorees and is Arkansas’ first All-SEC First-Team linebacker to be selected since Sam Olajubutu in 2006.

The leading tackler in the Southeastern Conference, Spaight has tallied 123 total stops on the season, placing him 16th nationally with an average of 10.3 tackles per game. Spaight’s 123 tackles are the most by a Razorback since Caleb Miller collected 133 in 2003. A native of North Little Rock, Arkansas, Spaight has started all 12 games and played a role in four turnovers, recording one interception, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery on the year.

Williams rushed broke the 1,000-yard plateau for the first time in his career after rushing for 1,085 yards, making him just the 12th Razorback ever to achieve the feat. The junior’s total ranks fourth in the conference and 39th nationally. His single-season compilation currently ranks 14th all-time in program history and his 2,216 career rushing yards pegs him 11th all-time in school history.

A force on the defensive line, Philon’s three fumble recoveries ties him for first in the league. In the Razorbacks’ contest against Northern Ilinois, Philon recovered a loose ball and rumbled 14 yards to the Huskies’ end zone for his first career touchdown. The Mobile, Alabama native ranks 12th in the SEC and leads the league’s defensive tackles with 10.5 tackles for loss.

Rounding-out Arkansas’ selections are sophomore tight end Hunter Henry, senior defensive end Trey Flowers and sophomore offensive linemen Denver Kirkland and Dan Skipper – all earning honorable mention.

The Razorbacks will travel to Houston to take on the Texas Longhorns in the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl. The SEC/BIG12 matchup will take place at NRG Stadium in Houston on Monday, Dec. 29 at 8 p.m. and will be nationally televised on ESPN.

Tickets to see the Razorbacks in the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl are available at and fans can find more information on the game at the Bowl Central page at

For more information on Arkansas Football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.