Washington named to AP All-SEC team

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. –- Arkansas junior forward Michael Washington has picked up his fourth post-season honor in the last two weeks by earning a spot on the Associated Press’ All-Southeastern Conference basketball team.

Washington has been named second-team All-SEC by the AP. Last week, he was named second-team all-conference by the league’s coaches. He has also been named All-District VII by the United States Basketball Writers Association and second-team All-District 21 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Washington entered the year with career averages of 3.9 points and 3.0 rebounds after averaging 4.3 points and 3.9 rebounds in just over 13 minutes a game last season as a sophomore. The 6-9, 229-pounder had a breakout year this season, leading the team with 15.5 points and 9.8 rebounds a game. He is 10th in the SEC in scoring, tied for first in rebounding, tied for third with a .551 field goal percentage and eighth with 1.3 blocked shots.

He closed the season with 15 points, and a game and career-high 18 rebounds against Florida in the SEC Tournament.

The McGehee, Ark., native had 12 double-doubles, the most for a Razorback since Derek Hood set the school record with 18 in 1999. He also had two 30-point games with 30 points against Southeastern Louisiana and 34 against North Texas. He is the first Hog to record multiple 30-point games in the same season since Jannero Pargo had five in 2002 and the first post player since Joe Kleine had seven in 1985.

Washington led the team in scoring 13 times and in rebounding 21 times. He scored in double figures 22 times, had nine 20-point games and was in double figures rebounding 14 times.

He is joined on the AP second team by Ole Miss’ David Huertas and Terrico White, Kentucky’s Patrick Patterson, Auburn’s Korvotney Barber and Alabama’s Alonzo Gee. The first team includes LSU’s Marcus Thornton and Tasmin Mitchell, South Carolina’s Devan Downey, Kentucky’s Jodie Meeks, Florida’s Nick Calathes and Mississippi State’s Jarvis Varnado. Ties were not broken.

Washington is Arkansas’ seventh All-SEC selection in the last six years, joining Sonny Weems (2008), Patrick Beverley (2007), Ronnie Brewer (2005, 2006) and Jonathon Modica (2004, 2006).



u-Marcus Thornton, LSU, G, 6-4, Sr.

Devan Downey, South Carolina, G, 5-9, Jr.

Jodie Meeks, Kentucky, G, 6-4, Jr.

Tyler Smith, Tennessee, F, 6-7, Jr.

t-Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, F-C, 6-9, Jr.

t-Nick Calathes, Florida, G, 6-6, So.

t-Tasmin Mitchell, LSU, F, 6-7, Jr.


Patrick Patterson, Kentucky, F, 6-9, So.

Korvotney Barber, Auburn, F, 6-7, Sr.

Alonzo Gee, Alabama, G, 6-6, Sr.

David Huertas, Mississippi, G, 6-5, Jr.

Terrico White, Mississippi, G, 6-5, Fr.

Michael Washington, Arkansas, F, 6-9, Jr.


Dominique Archie, South Carolina, F, 6-7, Jr.; Wayne Chism, Tennessee, F, 6-9, Jr.; Chris Johnson, LSU, 6-11, Sr.; A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt, C, 6-11, So.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Marcus Thornton, LSU


NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Terrico White, Mississippi