Weems Claims National Slam Dunk Championship

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas senior Sonny Weems won the collegiate slam dunk national title on Thursday in the 20th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas.

The contest was held in Greehey Arena in conjunction with this week’s Final Four.

The 6-6 guard/forward from West Memphis, Ark., placed second in the first round and in the semifinals before claiming the title in the finals.

Weems was one of eight invited to participate, joining James Gist of Maryland, J.R. Giddens of New Mexico, Patrick Ewing Jr. of Georgetown, Brian Randle of Illinois, Joey Dorsey of Memphis, Will Bullard of Texas A&M – Corpus Christi and Deron Washington of Virginia Tech.

Bullard, Giddens and Gist also advanced after the first round with Weems, who wore his cardinal Razorback uniform, and Bullard reaching the finals.

Weems’ display included a dunk where he passed the ball between his legs while in the air for a slam, catching the ball off a high bounce for a two-handed tomahawk dunk, running the length of the floor from the left corner and taking off from the free throw line for a one-handed jam, and catching a high bounce from the right corner and passing the ball between his legs for a left-handed dunk.

He has now won slam dunk titles at the high school, junior college and senior college level.

Weems recently completed his Razorback career by earning first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors, and all-district honors from the National Association of Basketball Coaches and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

He averaged 15.0 points, 4.5 rebounds and 2.6 assists, helping the Razorbacks go 23-12, finish second in the Southeastern Conference’s Western Division, reach the finals of the SEC Tournament and advance to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Former Razorback guard Brandon Dean won the slam dunk title in 2002.