Williams To Serve As Honorary Captain

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former Arkansas tight end D.J. Williams will serve as the A-Club Honorary Captain in Friday’s regular-season finale against Missouri.

Williams tallied 152 receptions, the fifth-highest total in school history and the most by a non-wide receiver, for 1,855 receiving yards and 10 touchdowns in four seasons (2007-10) for the Razorbacks. He was a three-time All-SEC selection, two-time All-American and also was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team in 2007.

Most notably, Williams won the John Mackey Award as the nation’s top tight end in 2010, becoming the first Razorback to earn the honor. He was also the school’s first semifinalist in 2008. Williams finished the 2010 campaign with a team-leading 54 receptions, the sixth-highest single-season total in school history, for 627 yards and a career-high four touchdowns. He was named first-team All-SEC after helping the Razorbacks be the only team in the country with a 3,000-yard passer, a 1,000-yard rusher and five 600-yard receivers. His 4.2 receptions-per-game average ranked seventh in the SEC and tops among the conference’s tight ends. He also won the Disney Spirit Award and was Arkansas’ first Sullivan Award finalist.

Following his collegiate career, Williams was drafted by the Green Bay Packers in the fifth round of the 2011 NFL draft. The Fort Worth, Texas native is also a member of the 2000-09 Arkansas All-Decade Team.

The A-Club honorary captain is recognized before each home game for their outstanding accomplishments on the field during their Razorback career. Before kickoff, they will be recognized and will accompany the captains to midfield for the coin toss.

The honorary captain program was launched in 2002 and has recognized more than 70 former Razorback football student-athletes.

The Razorbacks return to Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium for the final time of 2015 on Friday when they take on Missouri in the Battle Line Rivalry and honor their seniors. Kickoff for Friday afternoon is set for 1:30 p.m. on CBS.

For more information on Arkansas football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.