Women's cross at SECs

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – No. 29 Arkansas Razorback women’s cross country will continue the 2009 season with a 6K race at the 2009 Southeastern Conference Cross Country Championships. The gun will go off at 11 a.m., Sat., Oct. 31 at the Ole Miss Golf Course in Oxford, Miss.

In the current edition of the USTFCCCA weekly rankings, the Razorbacks are listed at No. 2 in the South Central rankings and No. 29 in the national poll. Arkansas is one of just two SEC schools listed in the poll. Florida is ranked No. 5.

Alyssa Allison, Cali George, Kristen Gillespie, Taylor Johnson, Samantha Learch, Miranda Walker, Ashley Williams and Keri Wood are slated to compete for the Razorbacks this weekend. Alabama, Auburn, No. 5 Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt, along with No. 29 Arkansas, will compete at the SEC Championships on Saturday.

When the Razorbacks travel to Ole Miss for the 2009 SEC Championships, Arkansas will be contending for its 14th conference cross country title and 20th SEC title overall (including indoor and outdoor track and field).

Since joining the SEC just in time for the 1991 SEC Cross Country Championships, the Razorbacks have won 13 of the 18 possible titles, including five-year stretches from 1991-95 and 1998-2002. The Razorbacks have captured 11 of the possible 18 individual titles, including a six-year stretch from 1997-2002, with the most recent coming in 2008 from Catherine White. Deena (Drossin) Kastor was the first SEC Champion for Arkansas when she won her first of two league cross country titles in 1991.

For more information on the 2009 SEC Cross Country Championships, visit ArkansasRazorbacks.com, OleMissSports.com or SECSports.com.

Download: 10.31.09 SEC Championships.pdf