2020 HOGSPYs: Top Play of the Year

The Top Play of the Year Award recognizes an impressive and memorable moment during competition.

This year’s nominees are:

Katie Izzo @ SECs (TF)

  • SEC Runner of the Year, won 3,000m and 5,000m at SEC Indoor.
  • Set SEC Indoor Championship record in 5,000m with a time of 15:48.34, breaking the mark of 15:53.34 set in 1990 by Kentucky’s Valerie McGovern.
  • Winning time of 9:09.02 in 3,000m topped field by six-plus seconds and was second-fastest winning time in conference history.

Kiara Williams vs. Texas A&M (WBB)

  • With just 8.6 seconds left, Williams, a 57 percent shooter from the free throw line over her career, stepped to the line with the Hogs trailing A&M by just one.
  • She calmly knocked both of her shots down to seal the second biggest comeback in SEC Tournament history.

Mason Jones @ Georgia Tech (MBB)

  • Although Arkansas led the majority of the game at Georgia Tech, the Razorbacks did not score the last 2:25 of the 2nd half and the Yellow Jackets forced OT.
  • In overtime, neither team scored until Tech hit a jumper with 21 seconds left.
  • On the ensuing possession, Mason Jones banked in the game winner from approximately 25 feet out as time expired to secure the win.

Robert Moore vs. Gonzaga (BSB)

  • With two outs against Gonzaga on Feb. 22 nearing the end of the game, a slow ground ball was hit between Robert Moore at second base and Cole Austin at first.
  • Moore charged from the edge of the dirt and needed a quick play to get the out. When he reached the ball, he snagged it with his glove turned for a back-hand and flipped it in one motion to Austin at first for the final out of the inning.
  • His move dazzled the crowd and earned him a spot on SportsCenter’s Top 10 that night.

Softball Double Header Walk-off vs. Kansas

  • Won game one of doubleheader on 17 pitch bases loaded hit by pitch by Ryan Jackson in 3-2 win.
  • Razorbacks scored all of their runs in the seventh inning and pinch hitter Audrie LaValley tied the game with a two-RBI single.
  • Kayla Green hit walk-off homer in the bottom of the seventh in the 1-0 game two win.

This year’s winner will be announced at 7 p.m. on @ArkRazorbacks on Twitter and on ArkansasRazorbacks.com