Arkansas Finishes Sixth in USTFCCCA Program of the Year

NEW ORLEANS, La. – Coming off a 15th-place finish at the 2019 NCAA Outdoor Championships in Austin, Texas the Arkansas men’s team finished as the runner-up in the John McDonnell Program of the Year, announced Tuesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

This is the seventh consecutive season that the Razorbacks have finished inside the top-10 in the standings. Arkansas has finished in the top three of the standings six times over the past decade and is one of seven programs to finish in the top three over the same time period.

The Program of the Year Award, named for Arkansas’ legendary coach John McDonnell, recognizes the team that has the best-combined results across the NCAA cross country and indoor and outdoor track and field seasons with points distributed based on team finish. To be considered for the award, a team must qualify for the NCAA Championships in all three seasons. Upon completion of the outdoor championship, points from each season are added, with the award recipient being the team with the lowest combined total.

Arkansas capped the year with a final total of 54.50-points after 25th in cross country, 13th during the indoor season and 15th during the outdoor season. The Razorbacks are the only team to finish inside the top-10 this season and are only one of five teams (Stanford, Oregon, Wisconsin, BYU) to finish in the top-25 at all three championships (XC, ITF, OTF).

Program of the Year Top-Ten 
1. Stanford – 14.50
2. BYU – 24
3. Wisconsin – 32
4. Oregon – 46
5. Texas – 50
6. Arkansas – 54.50
6. Florida State – 54.50
8. Notre Dame – 66
9. Indiana – 69.50
10. Oklahoma State – 75
10. Northern Arizona – 75

Arkansas won the award last in 2016-17, which saw the Hogs finished fifth nationally in cross county, fifth during indoor and fourth during the outdoor season. The Razorbacks are one of only four teams to ever win the prize (Alabama, Florida State, Oregon, and Stanford) since its inception in 2008-09 and the only Southeastern Conference team to accomplish the challenging feat.

Prior to 2016-17, Arkansas last won the award in 2012-13, which saw the Hogs place 10th nationally in cross county, first in indoor and third in outdoor.

Past Winners
2018-2019Stanford (1st), BYU (2nd), Wisconsin (3rd)
2017-2018Alabama (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Stanford (3rd)
2016-2017Arkansas (1st), Oregon (2nd), Ole Miss (3rd)
Oregon (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Stanford (3rd)
Oregon (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Texas (3rd)
Oregon (1st), Oklahoma State (2nd), Arkansas (3rd)
Arkansas (1st), Wisconsin (2nd), Oregon (3rd)
Florida State (1st), Indiana (2nd), Texas (3rd)
Florida State (1st), Stanford (2nd), BYU (3rd)
Oregon (1st), Arizona State (2nd), Northern Arizona (3rd)
2008-2009Oregon (1st), Stanford (2nd), Florida State (3rd)

2018 Outdoor First Team All-America (10)
Roy Ejiakuekwu (4×100 relay)
Hunter Woodhall (4×400 relay)
Kristoffer Hari (4×100 relay)
Tre’Bien Gilbert (4×100 relay)
Josh Oglesby (4×100 relay)
John Winn (4×400 relay)
Jalen Brown (4×400 relay)
Rhayko Schwartz (4×400 relay)
Cameron Griffith (1,500-meters)
Gabe Moore (Decathlon)

2018 Outdoor Second Team All-America (5)
Kris Hari (100-meters)
Travean Caldwell (400-meter hurdles)
Nick Hilson (400-meter hurdles)
Gilbert Boit (10,000-meters)
Erich Sullins (Hammer Throw)

2018 Outdoor Honorable Mention (2)
Roy Ejiakuekwu (100-meters)
Rashad Boyd (200-meters)

2018 Indoor First Team All-America (10)
Gilbert Boit (DMR)
Jalen Brown (4×400 relay)
Travean Caldwell (4×400 relay)
Cameron Griffith (DMR)
Gabe Moore (Heptathlon)
Laquan Nairn (Triple Jump)
Kieran Taylor (DMR)
John Winn (4×400 relay)
Hunter Woodhall (DMR)
Hunter Woodhall (4×400 relay)

2018 Indoor Second Team All-America (1)
Derek Jacobus (Heptathlon)

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.