Franks, Flattmann Nominated For SEC McWhorter Scholarship

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – University of Arkansas track and field student-athletes Nathanael Franks and Kaitlin Flattmann have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship. The prestigious recognition has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league’s top male and female student-athletes.

The SEC will name the 2015 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 30.

“Congratulations to Nathanael and Kaitlin on being recognized among the most outstanding student-athletes in the Southeastern Conference,” Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. “Both have demonstrated the ability to succeed athletically in the nation’s most competitive conference while achieving remarkable things in the classroom and making an impact on the world around them. We celebrate all they have achieved, but most importantly, we are proud of the individuals they have become during their careers as Razorback student-athletes.”

Franks was a 2014-15 finalist for the Rhodes Scholarship to study at Oxford University and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in accounting with an expected graduation in Spring 2015. He has already completed a master’s degree in business management and earned his bachelor’s degree in chemistry and physics with a minor in history while graduating magna cum laude. Franks was the 2013 recipient of the Coach John Wooden Citizenship Cup.

The Damascus, Ore., native earned a spot on the USTFCCCA All-America Second Team in 2013 for his performance in the decathlon. That same season he was an SEC indoor champion with the Razorbacks’ distance-medley relay. As a multi-events standout, Franks ranks fourth in school history in the heptathlon and decathlon.

Flattmann has finished her bachelor’s degree requirements in biology and is currently finishing work toward her social work minor with an expected graduation in Fall 2015. As a member of the University of Arkansas’ Honor College, she carries a 3.971 cumulative grade-point average. Flattmann was a 2014 Student Undergraduate Research Fellow and ASSET Grant recipient.

The Benton, La., native is a three-time member of the SEC All-Academic Team and has been on Arkansas’ Dean’s List and a Chancellor’s Scholar since 2012. In competition, Flattmann was the 2011 SEC Freshman of the Year in cross country and finished third at the 2012 SEC Outdoor Championships at 10,000 meters. She is also a two-time NCAA West Preliminary qualifier at 5,000 meters. In 2012, she represented Team USA at the Cross Country International Challenge.

Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC official sponsor, provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla., in late May.

Franks, Flattmann and the rest of the Razorbacks return to action this weekend with the John McDonnell Invitational in Fayetteville which begins Friday afternoon. Contact the Razorback Ticket Center at 800-982-4647 or email to purchase tickets for home events.

For more information about Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.