Hall of Fame Welcomes 14 Razorbacks

Photo Gallery

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – A capacity crowd was on hand on Monday to welcome 14 Razorback greats into the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame. The induction luncheon, held at the Embassy Suites in Little Rock, was hosted by The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF), in conjunction with the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Little Rock Touchdown Club.

The 2017 class included Razorback standouts in football, basketball and track and field as well as a legendary journalist who covered the Hogs. Six of the honorees were inducted posthumously.

Jim Benton (football, deceased)
Ron Brewer (basketball)
Ronnie Caveness, (football, deceased)
Joe Ferguson (football)
Edrick Floreal (track & field)
Orville Henry (sportswriter, deceased)
Steve Little (football, deceased)
Fred Marshall (football)
Cynthia Moore (track & field)
Wear Schoonover (football, deceased)
Amber Shirey (basketball)
Billy Ray Smith Sr. (football, deceased)
Darrell Walker (basketball)
Dennis Winston (football)

“The Southwest Conference played such an important part in our program’s history and we are pleased to once again recognize deserving individuals who helped make the Razorbacks’ tenure in that league so successful,” University of Arkansas Vice Chancellor and Athletic Director Jeff Long said. “This year’s inductee class includes a diverse group of Razorback legends who enjoyed distinguished collegiate careers. And while they all competed or contributed to the success of different sports, they all share a common trait of representing the University of Arkansas and the Southwest Conference with great class and dignity.”

The Southwest Conference Hall of Fame is one of four separate halls of fame housed within the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s physical structure. They include the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame, the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and now, the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame.

“We are once again delighted to work with the University of Arkansas in honoring another amazing class of inductees into the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame,” said Cooper Jones, the President/CEO of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.  “Their accomplishments and dedication to their families and their schools set a high standard of excellence that exemplifies the very best of the Southwest Conference era, and has left a great legacy for all Razorbacks to be very proud of.”