Hogs Headed To Louisville for NCAA Regional

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – No. 17 Arkansas Women’s Golf will play in an NCAA Regional for the 18th straight time, as Head Coach Shauna Taylor’s Hogs were selected as part of the Louisville Regional, which will take place May 10-12, on Wednesday afternoon. The NCAA berth will mark the 14th in a row for Taylor as the Head Hog, as Arkansas will enter the tournament as the fifth seed in the Louisville regional, which will take place at the University of Louisville Golf Club.

“Being selected for NCAA Regionals is a testament to our team’s commitment and hard work this entire year,” Taylor said. “This is just a step toward the end goal and we look forward to traveling to Louisville to secure our spot.  We have an incredible group of young women who have worked extremely hard since August and have had to adapt, adjust, and be disciplined to achieve success in all areas this year. This team has embraced the challenges and I know they will be up for the challenge in Kentucky.”

18 teams and six individuals will compete at each of the four regional sites, and the top six teams will advance to the NCAA Championship, which will take place in Scottsdale, Arizona, at the Grayhawk Golf Club (May 21-26). The three top individuals from non-advancing teams will also get a chance to compete at the Championship.

Arkansas is making the program’s 19th NCAA Regional appearance and its 18th consecutive appearance. With the NCAA Tournament canceled last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Arkansas’ last appearance in an NCAA Regional was back in 2019, when they took fourth at the Washington Regional behind a fifth-place finish from Maria Fassi (-6). The year before that, Arkansas won its first regional ever, earning the trophy at the NCAA Texas Regional by 11 strokes. Fassi earned medalist honors, shooting eight-under, while three other Hogs – Dylan Kim (3), Kaylee Benton (T4) and Alana Uriell (T4) – also finished in the top five.

It’s no easy draw for the Razorbacks, though, as the Louisville Regional is arguably the toughest of the four locations. Two SEC foes make up half of the top four in Louisville, as both South Carolina, the No. 1 ranked team in America, and Auburn, the reigning SEC Champions, will both join Arkansas in the Bluegrass State.  No. 8 Florida State, who is the No. 2 seed, and No. 16 Texas, who is the fourth seed, round out the top four.

Inside The Ropes

Dates: May 10-12
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Course: University of Louisville Golf Club

The Field

  1. No. 1 South Carolina
  2. No. 8 Florida State
  3. No. 9 Auburn (Southeastern Conference Champion)
  4. No. 16 Texas
  5. No. 17 Arkansas
  6. No. 23 Texas Tech
  7. No. 25 UCLA
  8. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference Champion)
  9. University of Central Florida
  10. Tennessee
  11. North Florida
  12. Louisville
  13. University of Texas at San Antonio
  14. Mercer
  15. College of Charleston
  16. Xavier (Big East Conference Champion)
  17.  James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association Champion)
  18. Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference Champion)

More Information
Keep up with all of the latest news and information and get behind the scenes looks into our program on our social media accounts. Follow us on Twitter at @RazorbackWGolf and check out our Facebook page “Razorback Women’s Golf.” Stats, news and player information can be found at ArkansasRazorbacks.com.