McLeod Named #SECTF Men's Runner Of The Year

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – In recognition of his standout performances during the indoor season, sophomore sprinter Omar McLeod has been named the 2015 SEC Men’s Runner of the Year as announced Monday by the league office. McLeod won the SEC title in the 60-meter hurdles and owns the fastest time in the country at 7.49 heading into this weekend’s NCAA Championships.

The 2015 NCAA Indoor Championships will be contested March 13-14 at the Randal Tyson Track Center in Fayetteville for the 12th time. Limited seats remain with two-day, all-session tickets available at $30 for general admission. Tickets for the NCAA meet can be purchased HERE, by contacting the Razorback Ticket Center at 800-982-HOGS (4647) or by visiting the Ticket Center located just east of Baum Stadium at 1295 S. Razorback Road.

McLeod is the third Razorback in program history to earn SEC Runner of the Year accolades, joining a short list that also includes past standouts Alistair Cragg (2004) and Dorian Ulrey (2009-10). Prior to the 2004 season, the league awarded one comprehensive Athlete of the Year honor which was bestowed upon four Razorbacks in Cragg (2003), Erick Walder (1993-94), Ryan Wilson (1996) and Robert Howard (1997).

Monday’s announcement is the latest recognition for McLeod heading into this weekend’s NCAA Indoor Championships. His postseason honors began last week when he was named to the pre-NCAA Bowerman Watch List and selected as the USTFCCCA South Central Region Track Athlete of the Year. Last season, McLeod was the co-SEC Freshman Runner of the Year.

In his last outing, McLeod won his first-career SEC title with a victory in the 60-meter hurdles in a near-collegiate record of 7.49. The time improved upon his own school record, broke the SEC meet record and tied the No. 2 mark in NCAA history. McLeod is just the third collegiate performer to run a sub-7.50 hurdle race. He is also part of Arkansas’ NCAA-qualifying 4×400-meter relay team.

Overall, the Razorback men have 10 national qualifiers in nine events for the NCAA Championships. Along with McLeod, Arkansas will be represented by Kemoy Campbell at 3,000 and 5,000 meters, Andrew Irwin in the pole vault, Stanley Kebenei at 3,000 meters, Jarrion Lawson in the long jump, Clive Pullen in the triple jump, Marqueze Washington at 400 meters and its 4×400-meter and distance-medley relays.

For more information about Arkansas track and field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.