McLeod Retains Spot on Bowerman Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Heading into the outdoor championship season, Omar McLeod continues his run on the 10-man Bowerman Watch List as released Wednesday afternoon. This marks his fourth-consecutive appearance, having entered the list in February after winning the SEC indoor title in the 60-meter hurdles. Through the first six weeks of the outdoor season, McLeod is the NCAA leader and world No. 3 in the 110-meter hurdles.

McLeod made his outdoor-season debut at the 106th Drake Relays where the meet and Arkansas record with his time of 13.21 which equals the fifth-fastest performance and makes him the No. 7 all-time performer in collegiate history. For his efforts, he was the co-recipient of the Maury White Award as the Drake Relays’ Most Outstanding Performer. McLeod also won Drake Relays titles in the 4×100- and 4×200-meter relays.

During the indoor season, the Kingston, Jamaica, native successfully defended his NCAA title in the 60-meter hurdles with a collegiate-record performance of 7.45 in front of the home fans at the Randal Tyson Track Center. McLeod also won the SEC indoor title in the event in 7.49 to break the meet record. He also ran a leg on Arkansas’ indoor All-American 4×400-meter relay.

McLeod is the sixth Razorback to appear on the Bowerman Men’s Watch List, and the third from the current roster along with current teammates Andrew Irwin and Jarrion Lawson. Overall, Arkansas has now been represented 17 times on the Watch List.

The Bowerman award, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the standout male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation In total, the winner from the award’s first five years have won three Olympic medals, two World Championship titles and six World Championship medals overall. The next men’s Watch List is set to be released May 20.

Arkansas enters the postseason as the No. 8 team in the country with its next competition set for May 14-16 at the SEC Outdoor Championships in Starkville, Miss. Senior Stanley Kebenei is the defending champion at 5,000 meters and in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. The Razorback men have won 18 SEC outdoor team titles, most recently in 2013.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.