Moore Set To Compete For Team USA at Thorpe Cup

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas’ Gabe Moore is headed to Bernhausen, Germany for the 26th annual international multi-event competition, Thorpe Cup, set for Sept. 14-15.

This is the 26th of a series of annual international team decathlons between the United States and Germany. The U.S. men’s team holds a 14-11 W-L advantage, but the German team has won eight of the most recent matches since 2010.

This will be the second appearance for Moore at the Thorpe Cup following his debut in 2017 where he finished fourth. Moore wrapped up his NCAA eligibility this past June where the Freeport, Fla. native finished third in the Decathlon, following a runner-up finish indoors in the Heptathlon at the NCAA Championships in Birmingham, Ala. Moore is currently No. 2 in program history in the Decathlon and No. 3 indoors in the Heptathlon. Moore holds a lifetime-best of 7,901-pts set in 2018 at the SEC Outdoor Championships in Knoxville, Tenn.

Currently the world’s most important nation vs. nation team decathlon, this meet has been variously called the VISA CUP Meet or the JEEP Challenge. In 2007, the event officially took the name of The Thorpe Cup in honor of 1912 Olympic Decathlon Champion Jim Thorpe, of Carlisle, Pa.

The concept of an annual team match was initially conceived by VISA-USA team coach Harry Marra and Team Zehnkampf coach Claus Marek in 1993.

In the current series, the first meeting was arranged in Aachen, Germany in 1993 where Stefan Schmid of Germany and the VISA USA team were victorious. The U.S. team won six of the initial seven team battles. In 1999, the event hosted in Aachen was decided by a mere five points. Three years earlier in Edwardsville, Ill., the U.S. squad set a world five-man team record averaging 8121.4 points per man.

This meet has been the proving ground for many notable Olympians. All told, 15 Olympic decathletes have competed in the meet (see below). Only Kip Janvrin, Mike Maczey and Tom Pappas have won the individual title more than once.

In the years before the current series, the U.S,. and German decathlon teams met twice: In 1974, Team USA won both with one of their decathletes in Tallinn, Estonia (tri meet: USA/USSR/Germany). Team USA won again in 1983 in Baton Rouge, La. So, counting the two earlier team meetings, the Americans hold a historical 15-9 national team advantage.

Olympians who have appeared in the Dual Meet:

Kip  Janvrin (2000) Stefan Schmid (2000)
Aric Long (1992) Dirk-Achim Pajonik (1996)
Chris Huffins (1996, 2000) Frank Muller (1992)
Rob Muzzio (1992) Mike Maczey (2000)
Steve Fritz (1996) Arthur Abele (2008)
Tom Pappas (2000, 2004, 2008) Andrei Nicklaus (2004)
Bryan Clay (2004, 2008) Rico Freimuth (2012)
Paul Terek (2004)

Current Men’s Assistant Coach Mario Sategna competed in the meet in 1995 and in 1997 where he claimed the meet title.

In addition, current Arkansas Track and Field Strength Coach Mat Clark took part in the meet on three occasions (’10, ’11, ’12).

Razorback Alum Derek Jacobus competed in the meet last season in Knoxville, Tenn. alongside current Hog Markus Ballegnee.


40.607 Points • USA (1996)

5-Men-Team-World Record with an average score of 8121,4 Points for each athlete:

  • Kip Janvrin: 8462 Points
  • Drew Fucci: 8146 Points
  • Darwin Vande Hoef: 8123 Points
  • Brad Swanson: 8066 Points
  • Chris Wilcox: 7873 Points

Individual Event Meet Records

100-meters: 10,43  – Manuel Eitel/GER (2018)
Long jump: 7.71m – Thomas Görz/GER (1995)
Shot put: 17.19m – Norbert Demmel/GER (1995)
High jump: 2.16m – René Stauß/GER (2012)
400-meters: 47.26 – Dan Steele/USA (1995)
110-meter hurdles: 13.92 – Darwin Vande Hoef/USA (1996)
Discus throw: 54.78m – Norbert Demmel/GER (1995)
Pole vault: 5.30m – Mario Sategna/USA (1997), 5,30 m – David Lemen/USA (2003)
Javelin throw: 69.98m – Stefan Schmid/GER (1993)
1500-meters: 4:09.07 – Kip Janvrin/USA (1999)
1. Day: 4,472 Points – Tom Pappas/USA (2009)
2. Day: 4,166 Points – Kip Janvrin/USA (1999)
Decathlon: 8,569 Points – Tom Pappas/USA (2009)

Team Score Record:
USA 40,607 pts July 17, 1996 to July 18, 1996 was a five-man team World Record, averaging 8121.4 points per man. (Edwardsville, IL)
Kip Janvrin 8462 pts
Drew Fucci 8146
Darwin Vande Hoef 8123
Brad Swanson 8066
Chris Wilcox 7873

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.