Britton Wilson named SEC Outdoor Runner of the Year

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Arkansas sophomore Britton Wilson earned SEC Outdoor Runner of the Year honors as voted upon by league coaches.

Currently the world-leader in the 400m hurdles, Wilson won the SEC title in 53.75 seconds, less than an hour after claiming the 400m in an Arkansas record of 50.05 seconds. She then capped her amazing day with a 48.60 split on the Razorbacks bronze medal 4 x 400 relay, which set a school record of 3:22.55.

Those single day exploits earned Wilson a place on The Bowerman watch list.

The relay split is the fastest by a collegian, topping the 48.78 established by Kentucky’s Abby Steiner during the third leg of the SEC encounter, as well as the mark of 48.84 set the previous year by Texas A&M’s Athing Mu.

In winning the 400m hurdle title in a commanding fashion, Wilson became the first Razorback to claim the event since Sparkle McKnight in 2013. The 400m victory was the seventh Arkansas title over the past 10 SEC Outdoor meets.

Wilson became the first female to achieve the SEC 400m/400m hurdle double win. It’s only been done once on the men’s side, by Auburn’s David Adkins in 1966, the first year the 440y hurdles were added to the schedule instead of the 330y hurdles and previously the 220y hurdles.

Both winning marks by Wilson rank her as the No. 6 performer on the all-time collegiate lists.

Favored to win the NCAA 400m hurdle title in the Track & Field News form chart, Wilson is also predicted by the magazine to finish second in the event at the USATF Championships, the selection meet for Team USA at the 2022 World Championships, which will be held in Eugene, Oregon, this summer.

SEC Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Awards

Runner of the Year: Britton Wilson, Arkansas

Field Athlete of the Year: Jasmine Moore, Florida

Freshman Runner of the Year: Michaela Rose, LSU

Co-Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Katelyn Fairchild, Texas A&M

Co-Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Elena Kulichenko, Georgia

Coach of the Year: Mike Holloway, Florida


Women’s First Team All-SEC

Amanda Fassold, Arkansas

Britton Wilson, Arkansas

Women’s Second Team All-SEC

Jada Baylark, Arkansas

Morgan Burks-Magee, Arkansas

Rosey Effiong, Arkansas

Lauren Gregory, Arkansas

Logan Jolly, Arkansas

Isabel Van Camp, Arkansas

Women’s Freshman All-SEC

400m: Rosey Effiong, Arkansas

10,000m: Sydney Thorvaldson, Arkansas