Broyles, Dicus Among Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

NEW ORLEANS – The Sugar Bowl announced on Monday an inaugural Hall of Fame class that includes the late University of Arkansas men’s athletics director and football coach Frank Broyles as well as Razorback All-American wide receiver Chuck Dicus among the 16 legends to be honored later this month.

The first class of Hall of Famers spans seven decades of Sugar Bowl action and includes 12 players, two national championship coaches and two individuals who had the rare distinction of playing and coaching in the bowl.

The living members of the inaugural Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame class have been invited to New Orleans for the playoff semifinal set for January 1, 2018 between top-ranked Clemson and No. 4 Alabama at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Broyles served the University of Arkansas for more than five decades as a coach and athletics administrator. He coached Arkansas to four different Sugar Bowls and when adding in his experience as an AD and broadcaster, he was a part of 18 Sugar Bowls. In 19 seasons (1958-76) as head football coach, Broyles amassed a record of 144-58-5, seven Southwest Conference titles and 10 bowl bids. In 1964, Broyles led the Razorbacks to an undefeated season and a national championship.

Dicus, who played from 1968 to 1970, posted arguably the best back-to-back Sugar Bowl performances in history. In the 1969 game, he had one of the greatest receiving days in Sugar Bowl history when he caught 12 passes for 169 yards and a touchdown in a 16-2 win over Georgia. One year later, on January 1, 1970, Dicus proved 1969 was no fluke as he caught six passes for 171 yards, including a 47-yard touchdown. His two-game totals of 19 receptions and 340 receiving yards are both tops among individuals in Sugar Bowl history.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame – Inaugural Class
Sammy Baugh, TCU (1936)
Raymond Brown, Ole Miss (1958)
Frank Broyles, Georgia Tech and Arkansas (1944, 62, 63, 69, 70)
Bear Bryant, Kentucky and Alabama (1951, 62, 64, 67, 73, 75, 78, 79, 80)
Chuck Dicus, Arkansas (1969, 70)
Tony Dorsett, Pitt (1977)
Bo Jackson, Auburn (1984)
Johnny Majors, Tennessee and Pitt (1956, 77, 86, 91)
Archie Manning, Ole Miss (1970)
Dan Marino, Pitt (1982)
Davey O’Brien, TCU (1939)
Major Ogilvie, Alabama (1978, 79, 80)
Pepper Rogers, Georgia Tech (1953, 54)
Claude “Monk” Simons, Tulane (1935)
Gene Stallings, Alabama (1993)
Herschel Walker, Georgia (1981, 82, 83)

For more information on Razorback Football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.