Lance Harter


  • 600 All-Americans
  • 25 NCAA Event Titles
  • 8-Time National Coach of the Year
  • 39-Time SEC Coach of the Year
  • USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame
  • 2015 National Indoor Championship
  • 2016 National Outdoor Championship
  • 2019 National Indoor Championship
  • 2019 National Outdoor Championship
  • 2019 National Cross Country Championship
  • 23 NCAA Regional Championships
  • 38 SEC Titles: Cross Country (20), Indoor (10), Outdoor (8)
  • 1 National Triple Crown, 6 SEC Triple Crowns

The most successful coach in University of Arkansas and Southeastern Conference women’s cross country and track and field history, Lance Harter is in his 31st year at the helm of the Razorbacks program.

Having claimed multiple championships in each season of the sport, Harter’s current tally includes five NCAA Championships and 38 SEC Championships. In 2019, the Razorbacks completed a sweep of all three NCAA Championships in a calendar year, becoming only the second women’s program to accomplish the feat and the first since 1986.

Harter was inducted into the USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame on December 15, 2014, at the organization’s convention in Phoenix. He is also a member of the Arkansas Sports Hall of Honor, Mt. SAC Relays Hall of Fame and Cal Poly Hall of Fame.

During his tenure, his programs won every conference title from the 2014 SEC Outdoor Championships to the 2018 SEC Indoor Championships, winning 12 straight titles, and became the first program since LSU in 1987-91 to four-peat at the conference outdoor championships in 2017. Current SEC championship streaks for Arkansas include seven consecutive cross country titles and six consecutive indoor championships.

Prior to the 2019 sweep of NCAA titles, Harter cemented his place in Razorback history in 2015 by winning the NCAA Indoor championship, the first-ever title by a women’s program at UA, and in 2016 won the NCAA Outdoor title. With five national championships, he remains the only coach of a women’s program to win a title.

Overall, Harter has guided Arkansas to 35 top-10 NCAA finishes (11 cross country, 16 indoor track and eight outdoor) in his tenure including 22 top-five performances. In 2019, Harter’s teams swept all three SEC and three NCAA titles earning him SEC Coach of the Year and National Coach of the Year honors for each championship.

Through the 2015 outdoor season, the Razorbacks have finished third or better in 78 percent (56 of 72) of SEC Championship meets under his watch. Arkansas has never finished lower than third at an SEC cross country meet.

Continuing his legacy of training athletes that are nationally renowned through cross country, indoor and outdoor track & field, Harter transformed South African native Dominique Scott-Efurd into one of the most versatile distance runners to ever compete on the collegiate circuit. The only five-time NCAA national champion in program history Scott-Efurd was named the NCAA Indoor Runner of the Year in 2015 and was recognized as a semifinalist for the prestigious Bowerman Award in 2016. Under Harter’s guidance, Scott set seven program records during her tenure as a Razorback. Scott along with Therese Haiss, Kamilos and Sparkle McKnight produced the second-best performance in NCAA history in the distance medley relay.

Harter’s dominance was noticed at the national level, as he has been a coach of Team USA five times. He was the head coach of Team USA at the 1999 World Championships in Seville, Spain.

Harter’s coaching prowess hasn’t gone unnoticed by his peers at the international level where he has represented the United States five times including duties as an assistant coach at the 1992 Summer Olympic Games in Barcelona, Spain.

He served as the head coach of Team USA at the 1999 World Championships in Seville, Spain, and worked with former pupil Deena (Drossin) Kastor ahead of the 2004 Olympics where she went on to win bronze in the marathon, becoming the first American to medal in the Olympic marathon, male or female, since 1984. Harter was also the head coach of the United States’ women at the 2003 World Cross Country Championships in Brussels, Belgium.

Harter arrived at Arkansas in 1990 after 11 years of building the nation’s top Division II program at Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo. His teams at Cal Poly-SLO won a Division II record 14 national championships, including eight consecutive cross country and six track and field titles. He was Division II national coach of the year 10 times.


A 1972 graduate of Texas Tech, Harter set several school records as a member of the cross country and track teams. A dean’s list honoree every semester at Tech, he earned a degree in Physical Education and American History. He earned a Master’s in Education from Colorado State in 1974, focusing on the physiology of exercise. He has completed doctoral hours at both Colorado and Colorado State.


  • 2015 NCAA Indoor Champions
  • 2016 NCAA Outdoor Champions
  • 2019 NCAA Indoor Champions
  • 2019 NCAA Outdoor Champions
  • 2019 NCAA Cross Country Champions

Conference Championships

Cross Country 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
Indoor 2000, 2001, 2003, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Outdoor 2000, 2001, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019


Regional Championships

Cross Country 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019


Coach of the Year Awards

SEC Cross Country 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
SEC Indoor 1998, 2000, 2001, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020
SEC Outdoor 2000, 2001, 2004, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019


Individual National Champions

  • 1991- Jamie Park, 10,000M
  • 1995- Trine Pilkog, Mile | Sara Schwalk, 3,000M
  • 2000- Amy Yoder-Begley, 5,000M (Indoor)
  • 2001- Tracy Robertson, Mile
  • 2005- Aneita Denton, 800M (Indoor & Outdoor)
  • 2014- DMR (S. Brown, G. Heymsfield, D. Scott, C. Williams)
  • 2015- DMR (T. Haiss, J. Kamilos, Sparkle Mcknight, D. Scott)
  • 2016- Dominique Scott, 5,000M & 10,000MM (Outdoor)

Academic All-Americans
28 Razorbacks have earned 43 CoSIDA Academic All-America honors

  • Kim Mount (2x)
  • Claire Lavers
  • Rene Pillow
  • Megan Flowers (2x)
  • Jessica Koch
  • Jessica Daily (2x)
  • Amy Yoder
  • Lilli Kleinmann
  • Tracy Robertson
  • Andreina Byrd (2x)
  • Marie LeJour
  • Jamie Walker
  • Jessica Johnson (2x)
  • Maureen Scott (2x)
  • Laura Jakosky
  • Penny Splichal
  • Denise Bargiachi
  • Tara Diebold (3x)
  • Katie Stripling (2x)
  • Tina Sutej
  • Keri Wood
  • Sandi Morris (2x)
  • Taylor Ellis-Watson
  • Lexi (Weeks) Jacobus (3x)
  • Tori (Weeks) Hoggard (3x)
  • Taylor Werner (2x)
  • Katie Izzo
  • Devin Clark