Henry Named John Mackey Award Semifinalist

NEW YORK, N.Y. – The SEC leader in receptions (37) and receiving yards (490) by a tight end, Arkansas junior Hunter Henry has been named one of eight semifinalists for the 2015 John Mackey Award, announced on Monday. The John Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end.

The finalists for the John Mackey Award will be announced on November 24, while the winner will be unveiled on December 9 and presented live on December 10 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show.

A preseason All-American by multiple national media outlets, Henry is just a week removed from being named honorable mention for the John Mackey Tight End of the Week award after playing a critical part in Arkansas’ 4th and 25 conversion in overtime during the team’s 53-52 win at No. 19 Ole Miss. He also had six catches for 60 yards in the victory.

The Little Rock native made his 100th career reception in the Razorbacks’ 31-14 win at No. 9 LSU this past Saturday, becoming just the 13th tight end in SEC history to reach the triple-digit mark.

Through 10 games this season, Henry has garnered 24 receptions that resulted in either a first down or touchdown, which leads SEC tight ends. For his career, his receptions result in a first down or touchdown 77.5 percent of the time.

Complemented with his big-play ability, Henry has been one of Arkansas’ most reliable targets. He hasn’t dropped a single pass this season, and he’s showcased his strong hands throughout his career, dropping just six of his 169 targets. Of his 169 targets, he’s reeled in 102 passes for 1,412 yards, good for 60 percent and 8.4 yards per target. This season, the junior is hauling in 67 percent of his looks, averaging 8.9 yards per target, which leads all SEC tight ends and ranks sixth among FBS tight ends (minimum 25 receptions).

Since his true freshman season in 2013, no SEC tight end has been as dominant as Henry. His 1,412 yards and 102 receptions during that span are tops in the conference.

Former Arkansas great D.J. Williams won the John Mackey Award in 2010 and was the program’s first semifinalist in 2008.

2015 John Mackey Award Semifinalists
Hunter Henry, Arkansas
Jake Butt, Michigan
Billy Freeman, San Jose State
Bucky Hodges, Virginia Tech
Austin Hooper, Stanford
O.J. Howard, Alabama
Jordan Leggett, Clemson
Jake McGee, Florida