Orange Garners Multiple Honors

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Carlton Orange earned SEC and FloTrack Freshman of the Week honors for his impressive performance at the Razorback Invitational. The 2015 USATF and PanAm junior champion was recognized for his outstanding first-place finish in the invitational section of the 800-meter run.

The Memphis, Tennessee native didn’t let the big stage overwhelm him in the first nationally televised regular season track meet. Orange showed tremendous poise in a competitive race in front of his home crowd at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

His fellow competitors pushed the pace out early but Orange remained in the hunt for most of the race. Making a move for the lead with 400 meters left Orange held his pace for the rest of the race never yielding as his competitors fought to catch him. Orange crossed the line in a time of 1:47.38 setting a personal record. The mark also gives him the second best time in the nation for a freshman and places him sixth in the NCAA for top times in the 800-meter run.

Arkansas men’s track and field return to action on Feb. 12-13 as they host the Tyson Invitational. Tickets are $5 for adults and youth 17 and under get in free.

The Razorbacks will host the 2016 SEC Indoor Track and Field Championships on Feb. 26-27. All-session tickets for the event are now on sale. All-session ticket prices are $35 for reserved seating and $25 for adult general admission. Youth and general admission student tickets are available for $15.

Tickets will be available online, or by calling the Razorback Athletics Ticket Center at 800-982-4647. You can also visit the Ticket Center in person at 1295 S. Razorback Road, just east of Baum Stadium.

2016 INDOOR TOP 10 (800 METERS)
1. Donavan Brazier – Texas A&M (2) 1:45.93
2. Shaquilee Walker – BYU 1:46.93
3. Brannon Kidder – Penn State (21) 1:47.01
4. Drew Piazza – New Hampshire 1:47.28
5. Ryan Manahan – Mississippi (1:47.37)
6. Carlton Orange – Arkansas (8) 1:47.38
7. Andres Arroyo – Florida (1) 1:47.43
8. Joseph White – Georgetown 1:47.44
9. Dylan Campbell – Monmouth 1:47.70
10. Craig Engels – Mississippi 1:47.75

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.