Philon Drafted By San Diego In 6th Round

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas defensive lineman Darius Philon has been selected by the San Diego Chargers as the 16th pick in the sixth round (192nd overall) in the 2015 National Football League Draft.

Philon is the 28th Razorback defensive lineman to be selected in the NFL draft and the 11th Razorback to be drafted by the Chargers.

The Mobile, Alabama native is the eighth Razorback to be drafted under second-year head coach Bret Bielema. Bielema has had seven defensive lineman drafted in his eight-year head coaching career, including two-time Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year, J.J. Watt.

Philon joins defensive lineman Trey Flowers (4th round), linebacker Martrell Spaight (5th round) and cornerback Tevin Mitchel (6thround) as Razorback selections in the 2015 draft. It is the first time since 1989 that Arkansas has had four defenders picked in a single draft.

In his two-year playing career with the Razorbacks, Philon saw action in all 25 games with starts in 18 contests. In his sophomore year, Philon was named an AP second team All-SEC selection after logging 46 tackles, including 11.5 for loss, 4.5 sacks, a forced fumble and three fumble recoveries. His three fumble recoveries tied for the conference lead and ranked No. 10 in the nation.

Philon registered his first-career touchdown against Northern Illinois in 2014 after returning a fumble 14 yards to the end zone. Against No. 8 Ole Miss, Philon earned SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week after he recovered his third and final fumble and returned it seven yards in the 30-0 shutout over the Rebels.


“Outstanding burst and quickness off the snap. Penetrator with ability to make plays on the other side of the line if he wins early. Able to blow up zone plays with quickness. Plays with desired bend. Uses rip to establish advantage on edge and then plays with leverage to maintain his position through the play. High school defensive end who brings more advanced hand usage and pass-rush moves to the interior spot. Has athleticism to mirror and help contain quarterbacks thinking of bolting from pocket. Plus speed to the sideline in pursuit.” –

“Fires out of his stance with the quickness to disrupt the backfield… plays the piano, moving up and down the line of scrimmage with a flexible frame and lower body movement skills… shows the pursuit speed to give chase and make plays on the edges… natural pass rush traits to slip blocks with active hands and double-moves, understanding that leverage is his best friend… plays alert as a run defender to plug gaps, tracking the ball well… strikes through his target with pop, wrapping and finishing tackles… hustles and plays with a consistent motor… productive 2014 campaign, finishing second on the team in tackles for loss (11.5), sacks (4.5) and quarterback hurries (six).” –

“Outstanding first-step quickness and lateral agility for the position. Also has very quick hands to keep blockers from latching onto pads. Will get offensive linemen off balance with initial quickness, and then exploit with double-move back inside. Quick hands and flashes effective rip, swat, and swim moves, but needs more power to increase effectiveness. Runs a tight loop and is efficient with movement on games. Shows good bend. Effective mirror-slide to help contain mobile quarterbacks’.” –

2015 6 192 Darius Philon San Diego Chargers
2015 4 101 Trey Flowers New England Patriots
2014 5 159 Chris Smith Jacksonville Jaguars
2012 3 90 Jake Bequette New England Patriots
2008 3 90 Marcus Harrison Chicago Bears
2007 1 8 Jamaal Anderson Atlanta Falcons
2007 7 248 Keith Jackson, Jr. St. Louis Rams
2001 6 167 Randy Garner Atlanta Falcons
1999 6 202 Melvin Bradley Arizona Cardinals
1999 7 225 Ryan Hale New York Giants
1998 7 235 David Sanders Oakland Raiders
1996 5 155 Junior Soli San Diego Chargers
1994 1 26 Henry Ford Houston Oilers
1993 4 95 Raylee Johnson San Diego Chargers
1989 1 19 Wayne Martin New Orleans Saints
1984 1 15 Ron Faurot New York Jets
1979 1 4 Dan Hampton Chicago Bears
1975 15 380 Brison Manor New York Jets
1973 5 106 Dave Reavis Pittsburgh Steelers
1973 10 258 Don Wunderly Pittsburgh Steelers
1967 1 10 Loyd Phillips Chicago Bears
1966 16 237 Jim Williams Minnesota Vikings
1962 16 223 Jerry Mazzanti Philadelphia Eagles
1957 3 26 Billy Ray Smith, Sr. Los Angeles Rams
1952 5 52 Dave Hanner Green Bay Packers
1952 5 56 Fred Williams Chicago Bears
1951 26 315 Fred Williams Cleveland Browns
1940 16 148 Bolo Perdue Washington Redskins
1938 6 41 Ray Hamilton Cleveland Rams


2015 6 192 Darius Philon San Diego Chargers Arkansas
2015 4 101 Trey Flowers New England Patriots Arkansas
2014 7 224 Beau Allen Philadelphia Eagles Wisconsin
2014 5 159 Chris Smith Jacksonville Jaguars Arkansas
2011 1 11 J. J. Watt Houston Texans Wisconsin
2010 4 130 O’Brien Schofield Arizona Cardinals Wisconsin
2009 3 71 Matt Shaughnessy Oakland Raiders Wisconsin
2008 6 181 Nick Hayden Carolina Panthers Wisconsin


2015 6 192 Darius Philon
1996 5 155 Junior Soli
1994 2 43 Isaac Davis
1993 4 95 Raylee Johnson
1983 4 95 Danny Walters
1983 1 5 Billy Ray Smith, Jr.
1983 1 20 Gary Anderson
1981 6 162 Bobby Duckworth
1977 10 265 Curtis Townsend
1972 3 61 Bill McClard
1971 7 169 Chuck Dicus