Razorbacks honored for academics

FAYETTEVILLE – More than 200 student-athletes were honored for their outstanding academic achievements at the second annual Razorback Scholar-Athlete Awards Event on Monday night at Bud Walton Arena. Chancellor G. David Gearhart and Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long helped recognized those Razorback student-athletes who have distinguished themselves in the classroom during the last two semesters.

"I am proud of the accomplishments of our student-athletes in the classroom," Long said. "These young men and women have once again demonstrated the ability to distinguish themselves academically while balancing the demands of participating in intercollegiate athletics. As part of the University of Arkansas community, Razorback Athletics remains committed to helping our student-athletes succeed academically with a focus on graduation while competing athletically in the most competitive conference in the nation."

Organized by the Athletic Department’s Student-Athlete Academic Support and Achievement (SAASA) staff, the event formally recognized Arkansas’ more than 200 student-athletes that earned 3.00 grade point averages in either the spring 2009 or fall 2010 semesters. Other honorees included members of the gymnastics, softball, swimming & diving and women’s track & field teams who earned national awards over the past calendar year.

Team awards went to women’s golf team who posted a 3.47 cumulative GPA for the highest among women’s competitive team and the men’s golf team who earned a 3.28 to lead the men’s sports. The men’s golf team was also recognized as the team with the most improved GPA among the men’s sports with the women’s basketball team earning that distinction for the women’s sports.

The program concluded with Long and Associate Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Success and Achievement Melissa Harwood-Rom presenting gifts to the nine student-athletes who maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA for either their entire academic career or for the last three terms. Those individuals were: Lane Boyer, track & field; Genny Salvatore, gymnastics; Kat Moffett, soccer; Sarah Howard, swimming & diving; Lisa Lunkenheimer, swimming & diving; Erin Neumann, swimming & diving; Tara Diebold, track & field; Katie Stripling, track & field and McKenzie Rhea, volleyball.