Sandi Morris, Tina Šutej advance to pole vault final

BUDAPEST, Hungary – Arkansas alums Tina Šutej and Sandi Morris both advanced to the pole vault final at the World Athletics Championships by clearing 15-3 (4.65) during the qualifying round held on Monday evening.

Morris needed two attempts at each of the three heights (4.50, 4.60, 4.65) she cleared in the competition. Šutej was clean with first attempt makes on her first three heights (4.35, 4.50, 4.60) and needed a third attempt make on the decisive height.

The pole vault final will be held on Wednesday evening.

Arkansas volunteer assistant Shamier Little advanced to the semifinals of the 400m hurdles as she posted a 54.40 as runner-up in her opening round heat. Little races in the semifinal on Tuesday.

Also racing on Tuesday in the opening round of the 100m hurdles are Razorback Ackera Nugent of Jamaica and Cindy Sember of Great Britain, who trains with Arkansas women’s head coach Chris Johnson.

Razorback Nickisha Pryce finished fifth in her semifinal heat of the 400m, clocking a 51.24. A strong start by Pryce in lane eight had her making up the stagger on American Talitha Diggs in lane nine. Pryce placed 15th among the semifinal field.

Diggs ended up finishing second in 50.86 to reach the final behind a 49.87 heat winner from Lieke Klaver of the Netherlands.

Razorback freshman Jaydon Hibbert, a medal contender in the triple jump final, suffered a mild grade 1 hamstring strain in his right leg on his first attempt. He opted not to take any more attempts.

“I planted my leg on the board and just felt a cramp in my hamstring,” Hibbert said. “I don’t know why it happened because I felt great and ready during warm-up. I had a great season, and I’m not disappointed now. I know I could fight for a medal here, but the most important thing is that I gained experience at this level. I need to move on now, focus is on recovery and on next season. I’ll be OK. I will bounce back.”

Hibbert’s qualifying mark of 58-1 (17.70) from Saturday was not surpassed in the final. Hugues Fabrice Zango of Burkina Faso won the competition with a 57-10.5 (17.64) over a pair of Cubans – Lazaro Martinez 57-1.5 (17.41) and Cristian Napoles 57-1 (17.40).