Scott, Morris, Harter Collect #SECTF Year-End Awards

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Postseason accolades continue to roll in for the University of Arkansas women’s track and field team with Monday’s release of SEC year-end honors. Dominique Scott has been named the Co-SEC Runner of the Year, Sandi Morris is the Co-SEC Field Athlete of the Year and the league’s first-ever indoor Scholar-Athlete of the Year while Lance Harter captured SEC Coach of the Year honors.

The 2015 NCAA Indoor Championships will be contested March 13-14 at the Randal Tyson Track Center in Fayetteville for the 12th time. Limited seats remain with two-day, all-session tickets available at $30 for general admission. Tickets for the NCAA meet can be purchased HERE, by contacting the Razorback Ticket Center at 800-982-HOGS (4647) or by visiting the Ticket Center located just east of Baum Stadium at 1295 S. Razorback Road.

In the program’s storied history, Scott and Morris are the third Razorbacks to be named SEC Runner and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Scott joins the Runner of the Year list that includes Veronica Campbell (2004) and Kristen Gillespie (2012) while Morris joins Tina Sutej (2011-12) and Makeba Alcide as Field Athlete of the Year selections.

This is Scott’s second postseason award in addition to last week’s USTFCCCA South Central Region Track Athlete of the Year announcement. Scott won two SEC titles with victories in the mile and at 3,000 meters to become the fifth runner in program history to pull off the mile-3K double. In winning the mile, she broke the SEC meet record with a time of 4:32.49, just .01 off her own school record. Scott also owns the nation’s fastest time (8:52.57) at 3,000 meters.

Morris, a member of the pre-NCAA Bowerman Watch List, improved upon her own school record and broke the SEC meet record in winning the pole vault title at the conference meet. She cleared 4.66m/15-3.5 that ties the No. 2 mark in NCAA history and was her fourth winning clearance of 15’ or higher this season. Morris’ success is mirrored in the classroom where she carries a 3.922 cumulative GPA as a journalism major.

Harter earns his fifth SEC indoor coaching honors to match the number of the program’s indoor team titles. At the 2015 conference meet, the Razorbacks won a program-best SEC event titles on their way to scoring 130 points to secure the team crown. Harter, the 2015 USTFCCCA South Central Region Coach of the Year, saw his team ascend to No. 1 for the first time in program history when the Feb. 16 national poll was released.

For more information about Arkansas track and field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.