Smothers Named To Rimington Trophy Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas senior Mitch Smothers has been selected as one of 52 centers on the 2015 Spring Watch List for the Rimington Trophy, announced by the committee on Tuesday.

Smothers is the sixth different Razorback to be named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List and the first since three-time honoree Travis Swanson in 2013. The six different Arkansas centers have a total of 10 appearances on the Rimington Trophy Watch List over the award’s 14-year history. Jonathan Luigs won the award in 2007.

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in the FBS. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The 14-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $115 million for CF Research.

Smothers started all 13 games at center in 2014, helping pave the way for the only FBS running back duo to rush for 1,000-plus yards each in Jonathan Williams and Alex Collins. The Springdale, Ark. native was a major part of an Arkansas offensive line in 2014 that allowed an SEC-low 14 sacks. Smothers took more than 600 snaps and finished with a 72 percent offensive line grade while only being penalized twice.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses the following three teams to determine a winner:

  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

Arkansas Rimington Trophy Watch List Members
Mitch Smothers – 2014
Travis Swanson – 2011, 12, 13
Jonathan Luigs – 2006, 07*, 08
Kyle Roper – 2005
Dan Doughy – 2003
Josh Melton – 2001

*-2007 Rimington Trophy Recipient