Williams named semifinalist for Mackey Award

FAYETTEVILLE – Arkansas sophomore tight end D.J. Williams was named as a semifinalist for the John Mackey Award on Monday by the Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC). Williams is one of eight semifinalists for the Mackey Award which is presented annually to the nation’s best collegiate tight end.

Williams is the only sophomore among the eight semifinalists. The list also includes three seniors and four juniors. Williams is the first Mackey Award semifinalist in Razorback history.

This season Williams has put together a season unlike any other for an Arkansas tight end. He has set single season school records for receptions and receiving yards for a tight end and ranks sixth in the nation for tight ends in both categories.

This season Williams leads Arkansas in receptions with 48, yards with 613 and touchdown catches with two. He is averaging 12.8 yards per reception which is also tops on the team for receivers that have caught 20 or more passes.

Williams breakout game came against Ole Miss where he hauled in a career high 10 catches for 129 yards. The 10 catches were the most by any Arkansas receiver since Bobby Joe Edmonds snared 10 against Auburn during the 1984 Liberty Bowl.

Other tight ends considered for the Mackey Award include: Chase Coffman (Jr., Missouri), Jared Cook (Jr., South Carolina), Jermaine Gresham (Jr., Oklahoma), Mark Hafner (Sr., Houston), Branden Ledbetter (Sr., Western Michigan), Brandon Pettigrew (Sr., Oklahoma State) and Dennis Pitta (Jr., BYU).

Three finalists will be named for the award next week. The Mackey Award will be presented at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla.

For more information regarding Razorback football or University of Arkansas athletics please visit ArkansasRazorbacks.com.