Morris, Scott Help No. 1 Razorbacks to Lead at #SECTF Championships

Day 1 Results | Day 2 Heat Sheets

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Assisted by a pair of conference titles Friday, the No. 1 University of Arkansas women’s track and field team is in first place with 49.5 points at the 2015 SEC Indoor Championships at Nutter Field House in Lexington, Ky. The Razorbacks collected wins by Sandi Morris in the pole vault and Dominique Scott at 3,000 meters. During the day’s preliminary action, Arkansas secured six qualifiers and will have scoring opportunities in eight events Saturday.

The Razorbacks’ list qualifying for event finals features Taylor Ellis-Watson and Daina Harper at 400 meters, Chrishuna Williams at 800 meters and the quartet of Scott, Diane Robison, Therese Haiss and Jessica Kamilos in the mile. Other scoring chances will be available at 5,000 meters, in the 4×400-meter and distance-medley relays, high jump and triple jump.

What to Watch | Saturday Finals (all times central)
Alex Gochenour, Leigha Brown (high jump) – 10:30 a.m.
Tamara Myers (triple jump) – 10:30 a.m.
Diane Robison, Dominique Scott, Therese Haiss, Jessica Kamilos (mile) – 1:45 p.m.
Taylor Ellis-Watson, Daina Harper (400m) – 2:05 p.m.
Regan Ward, Shannon Klenke, Kaitlin Flattmann, Valerie Reina, Dominique Scott (5,000m) – 2:25 p.m.
Chrishuna Williams (800m) – 3:05 p.m.
Distance-Medley Relay – 4:20 p.m.
4x400m Relay – 4:50 p.m.

Morris became the fourth Razorback in program history to win an SEC indoor title in the pole vault, joining list of Stacie Manuel (2003, 2005), Katie Stripling (2008) and Tina Sutej (2010-12). With her final clearance of 4.66m/15-3.5, Morris improved upon her own school record and broke the SEC meet record previously held by Sutej. Her jump also ties the No. 2 mark in NCAA history. Morris had four first-attempt clearances before taking shots at the collegiate record.

Led by Morris’ performances and three inside the top four, the Razorbacks racked up 23.5 points in the pole vault for the team’s first points of the weekend. Ariel Voskamp tied for second with a clearance of 4.28m/14-0.5 while Desiree Freier made her SEC debut with a final clearance of 4.18m/13-8.5, good for fourth place. Megan Zimlich rounded out the scoring quartet in a tie for seventh.

In the final event of the day, Scott led a 1-2-4 finish for the Razorbacks followed by Robison and Shannon Klenke, respectively. Arkansas collected 23 points toward its team point total with the result. Scott’s victory makes her the 10th runner in program history to win the SEC indoor title at 3,000 meters. She and Robison were both in their second race of the day having qualified earlier in the mile prelim. Klenke crossed the finish line in a personal-best time of 9:27.72 to round out the scoring in the event.

Arkansas picked up three points in the pentathlon by way of seventh- and eighth-place respective finishes by Taliyah Brooks and Leigha Brown. In her SEC debut, Brooks tallied three personal bests on her way to 4,125 points while Brown had two bests of her own to score 4,059 points in the one-day, five-event competition.

Friday marked the beginning of the indoor championship season for Arkansas. Following this weekend’s meet, the Razorbacks will return to Fayetteville where they will host the 2015 NCAA Indoor Championships on Feb. 13-14 at the Randal Tyson Track Center. A two-day, all-session ticket for the national meet is $40 for reserved seating and $30 for general admission.

NCAA tickets are available for purchase HERE, by contacting the Razorback Ticket Center at 800-982-HOGS (4647) or visiting the Ticket Center located just east of Baum Stadium at 1295 S. Razorback Road in Fayetteville.

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

2015 SEC Indoor Championships | Day 1
60 Meters (preliminary)
24. Regine Williams – 7.59

200 Meters (preliminary)
21. Regine Williams – 24.22

400 Meters (preliminary)
4. Taylor Ellis-Watson – 53.08q
8. Daina Harper – 53.75q
9. Sparkle McKnight – 53.77
27. Brianna Swinton – 56.11

800 Meters (preliminary)
3. Chrishuna Williams – 2:07.18q
9. Rebekka Simko – 2:10.04 (PR)
18. Victoria Feole – 2:13.80
24. Annika Sisson – 2:20.09

Mile (preliminary)
2. Diane Robison – 4:46.64q
3. Dominique Scott – 4:47.41q
4. Therese Haiss – 4:47.55q
6. Jessica Kamilos – 4:48.82q

3,000 Meters
1. Dominique Scott – 9:17.24 [10 points]
2. Diane Robison – 9:21.13 [8]
4. Shannon Klenke – 9:27.72 (PR) [5]

Pole Vault
1. Sandi Morris – 4.66m/15-3.5 (MR, SR, PR) [10 points]
t-2. Ariel Voskamp – 4.28m/14-0.5 [7]
4. Desiree Freier – 4.18m/13-8.5 [5]
t-7. Megan Zimlich – 4.03m/13-2.5 [1.5]
14. Ariel Lachance – 3.88m/12-8.75

Long Jump
9. Tamara Myers – 6.11m/20-0.5

Shot Put
13. Micah Dennis – 14.76m/48-5.25 (PR)

7. Taliyah Brooks – 4,125 points [2 points]
2. 60m Hurdles – 8.29 (PR) [1,064 points]
2. High Jump – 1.78m/5-10 (PR) [953]
12. Shot Put – 11.10m/36-5 (PR) [602]
3. Long Jump – 6.15m/19-10.75 [868]
13. 800 Meters – 2:34.47 [637]
8. Leigha Brown – 4,059 points [1]
8. 60m Hurdles – 8.67 (PR) [980 points]
10. High Jump – 1.66m/5-5.25 [806]
2. Shot Put – 13.06m/42-10.25 (PR) [731]
13. Long Jump – 5.34m/17-6.25 [654]
3. 800 Meters – 2:15.36 [888]
–. Alex Gochenour – DNF
17. 60m Hurdles – 9.29 [850 points]
4. High Jump – 1.75m/5-8.75 [916]
5. Shot Put – 12.28m/40-3.5 [680]
7. Long Jump – 5.73m/18-9.75 [768]
–. 800 Meters – DNS